Thursday, April 24, 2014


Follow us:
Follow @NY1 on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 


Packers QB Rodgers Joins Starr Ranks at Annual Breakfast

  • Text size: + -
TWC News: Packers QB Rodgers Joins Starr Ranks at Annual Breakfast
Play now

Time Warner Cable video customers:
Sign in with your TWC ID to access our video clips.

  To view our videos, you need to
enable JavaScript. Learn how.
install Adobe Flash 9 or above. Install now.

Then come back here and refresh the page.

As part of the Super Bowl festivities, one of the NFL's top players was honored Friday in Times Square for his success throwing touchdowns and contributing to his community. NY1's Roger Clark filed the following report.

Legendary Green Bay Packers Quarterback Bart Starr on Friday presented the award named for him to Aaron Rodgers, the current QB for the Packers.

"This is a tremendous honor for me and I'm really blessed on so many levels, the friendship I have with Bart, the fact that i'm the first Packer to win this award means a lot to me," Rodgers said.

The award was presented at the 27th annual Super Bowl Breakfast, held each year in the Super Bowl city and hosted by Athletes in Action, the evangelical Christian sports ministry. The honor goes to a player selected by his peers who shows great character and leadership on and off the field.

"I'm just trying to use the gifts and the talents and the abilities that God gave me and the platform that our team success and my individual success allows me to make a difference," Rodgers said.

The event featured a who's who of football greats including former Giants star George Martin, current Giant Justin Tuck, Hall of Fame players and coaches like Anthony Munoz of the Bengals and Joe Gibbs of the Redskins, plus past Starr award winners like New Orleans Saints Quarterback Drew Brees.

"I think we've been blessed with so much, we've been given so much, and to whom much is given much is required, and anytime you have the opportunity to go out and touch a life in a positive way, that's creating a legacy and that's passing forward what's been given to you along the way," Brees said.

Not only do Bart Starr and Aaron Rodgers go down in history as great Green Bay Packers quarterbacks, but also as Super Bowl MVPs. Bart Starr was the winner in the first two Super Bowls, and Aaron Rodgers won in Super Bowl XLV. ClientIP:,, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP