Sunday, December 21, 2014

Follow us:
Follow @NY1 on Twitter Follow NY1 News on Facebook Follow NY1 News on Google+ Subscribe to this news feed 


How They Voted: Council Members Tackle Term Limit Bill

  • Text size: + -

Here is how each member of the City Council voted Thursday, October 23, on Mayor Michael Bloomberg's bill to extend term limits for elected officials from two terms to three.

The measure passed by a vote of 29 in favor to 22 opposed. Passage required a simple majority of 26 of the 51 councilmembers.

On the left is NY1's tally in the days leading up to the vote, while on the right are the votes themselves. Two councilmembers who initially said they would vote against the measure ended up supporting it.

Thirty-five members (designated with an asterisk) would have been term-limited out of office in 2010 had the measure not passed.

*Joseph AddabboNo No
Maria del Carmen ArroyoUndecided Yes
*Tony AvellaNo No
*Maria BaezYes Yes
*Charles BarronNo No
*Gail BrewerUndecided No
Anthony ComoNoNo
*Leroy ComrieYes Yes
*Bill de BlasioNoNo
Inez DickensYes Yes
*Erik Martin DilanYesYes
Mathieu EugeneNoNo
*Simcha FelderYesYes
*Lewis FidlerYesYes
*Helen FosterUndecided Yes
Daniel GarodnickNo No
*James GennaroNo No
Vincent GentileNo No
*Alan GersonUndecided Yes
*Eric GioiaNoNo
Sara GonzalezYes Yes
Vincent IgnizioNo No
*Robert JacksonYes Yes
Letitia JamesNo No
*Melinda KatzYesYes
*G. Oliver KoppellYes Yes
Jessica LappinNoNo
*John LiuNoNo
Melissa Mark-ViveritoNoNo
*Miguel MartinezYes Yes
*Michael McMahonNo No
Darlene MealyNo Yes
Rosie MendezNoNo
*Hiram MonserrateNo No
*Michael NelsonYes Yes
*James OddoNo No
Annabel PalmaNo No
*Christine QuinnYesYes
*Domenic RecchiaYes Yes
*Diana ReynaYes Yes
*Joel RiveraYesYes
*James SandersUndecided Yes
*Larry SeabrookYes Yes
*Helen SearsYes Yes
*Kendall StewartYes Yes
James VaccaNoYes
*Al VannYes Yes
*Peter Vallone, JrYes Yes
*David WeprinNo No
Tom WhiteUndecided Yes
*David YasskyUndecidedYes

* Would have been term-limited out of office in 2010 had the measure not passed.

NOTE: Councilmembers James Vacca and Darlene Mealy switched their position from "No" to "Yes" prior to voting.

Related Stories ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP