Saturday, December 27, 2014

Follow us:
Follow @NY1 on Twitter Follow NY1 News on Facebook Follow NY1 News on Google+ Subscribe to this news feed 


Where They Stand: Council Split Over Term Limits

  • Text size: + -

On the heels of Mayor Michael Bloomberg's push to extend term limits in order to pursue a third term in office, NY1 has contacted all 51 City Council members to find out where they stand on the issue.

We asked them, "Do you plan to support the mayor's bill to extend term limits?" Their responses, which are still coming in, are posted below.


• There are 51 Council members, including the Speaker. Of that number, 35 of them will be prohibited from running for re-election next year unless term limits are extended.

To extend term limits, 26 members of the council will have to vote in favor of the mayor's bill.

• 20 say they support the mayor's bill.

• 22 say they oppose it.

• 9 are undecided.



*Maria Baez, (D) Bronx
*Leroy Comrie, (D) Queens
Inez Dickens, (D) Manhattan
*Erik Martin Dilan, (D) Brooklyn
*Simcha Felder, (D) Brooklyn
*Lewis Fidler, (D) Brooklyn
Sara Gonzalez, (D) Brooklyn
*Robert Jackson, (D) Manhattan
*G. Oliver Koppell, (D) Bronx
*Miguel Martinez, (D) Manhattan
*Michael Nelson, (D) Brooklyn
*Christine Quinn, (D) Manhattan
*Domenic Recchia, (D) Brooklyn
*Diana Reyna, (D) Brooklyn
*Joel Rivera, (D) Bronx
*Larry Seabrook, (D) Bronx
*Helen Sears, (D) Queens
*Kendall Stewart, (D) Brooklyn
*Al Vann, (D) Brooklyn
*Peter Vallone, (D) Queens


*Joseph Addabbo, (D) Queens
*Tony Avella, (D) Queens
*Charles Barron, (D) Brooklyn
Anthony Como, (R) Queens
*Bill de Blasio, (D) Brooklyn
Mathieu Eugene, (D) Brooklyn
Daniel Garodnick, (D) Manhattan
*James Gennaro, (D) Queens
Vincent Gentile, (D) Brooklyn
*Eric Gioia, (D) Queens
Vincent Ignizio, (R) Staten Island
Letitia James, (D) Brooklyn
Jessica Lappin, (D) Manhattan
*John Liu, (D) Queens
Melissa Mark-Viverito, (D) Manhattan
*Michael McMahon, (D) Staten Island
Darlene Mealy, (D) Brooklyn
Rosie Mendez, (D) Manhattan
*Hiram Monserrate, (D) Queens
*James Oddo, (R) Staten Island
Annabel Palma, (D) Bronx
*David Weprin, (D) Queens


Maria del Carmen Arroyo, (D) Bronx
*Gale Brewer, (D) Manhattan
*Helen Foster, (D) Bronx
*Alan Gerson, (D) Manhattan
*Melinda Katz, (D) Queens
*James Sanders, (D) Queens
Tom White, (D) Queens
James Vacca, (D) Bronx
*David Yassky, (D) Brooklyn

Click on each council member's name to e-mail him or her.

* Will be term-limited out of office in 2010. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP