Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Follow us:
Follow @NY1 on Twitter Follow NY1 News on Facebook Follow NY1 News on Google+ Subscribe to this news feed 

News

NY1 teams with contributors from The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Magazine, Slate.com and Essence Magazine to review the latest books and book-related trends.

The Book Reader: 'Fosse'

  • Text size: + -
TWC News: The Book Reader: 'Fosse'
Play now

Time Warner Cable video customers:
Sign in with your TWC ID to access our video clips.

  To view our videos, you need to
enable JavaScript. Learn how.
install Adobe Flash 9 or above. Install now.

Then come back here and refresh the page.

Aisha Harris of Slate reports for NY1 on newly released book titles and the world of publishing in "The Book Reader."

Sam Wasson's recent biography of Bob Fosse, the legendary dancer, choreographer and director, may be the most comprehensive and in-depth look at the man to date.

Simply titled "Fosse," the book encompasses the many highs and lows of his extraordinary life, from Fosse's childhood beginnings as a dancer, with aspirations of becoming as great as Fred Astaire, to his eventual successes and failures on Broadway and in film.

Wasson examines the origins of Fosse's most well-known and influential works, such as "Steam Heat" from "The Pajama Game" and "Snake in the Grass" from "The Little Prince." He also shows us a complex figure driven by insecurities, one who dreamed of being a star performer but had to come to terms with the fact that his talents lay elsewhere, behind the scenes.

For fans of Fosse, Wasson's biography is a well-written, fascinating treat.

For more book reviews, check out the Slate Book Review at slate.com/books.

10.11.12.245 ClientIP: 54.211.95.201, 23.0.160.31, 10.48.37.151 UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/) Profile: TWCSAMLSP